Tel: 01299 822002

Meet the School Governors

At Astley Primary School, our governors play a vital role in supporting the day-to-day runnning of the school and are committed to providing the highest standards of education for each pupil.

Please see below a table containing information of our school’s current Governing body. This also details any personal or business interest they or any relative or person closely connected with them, have with businesses or other organisations that may have dealings with the school. This could, for example, include owning or having a relative work for a business that had dealings with school; having a relative working in or for school or being a governor of another school. 

If any interest a governor has could be seen to cause a conflict of interest, they would be asked to withdraw from any decision making concerned. This is to ensure that our governors can always be seen to be putting the interest of the school first.

If there is a potential conflict it is shown in the table. This table also shows the category of governor each person is, any specific role on the governing body and the committees they are members of.

The different categories of governors on our governing body are:

  • Foundation Governors are appointed to the governing bodies of voluntary controlled and voluntary aided schools to preserve the religious character of the school. In voluntary aided schools, Foundation Governors form the majority on the governing body;
  • Parent Governors who have a child in school at the time of their election, and are elected by the parents with children at the school;
  • Staff Governors who are members of staff at the school and are elected by their colleagues;
  • Local Authority (LA) Governors who are nominated by the local councillor and appointed by the governing body;
  • The Headteacher (HT) is also a member of the governing body by right of the position they hold in the school;
  • Co-opted Governors are appointed on to the governing body by the other members because they come from a specialist group, such as the business community or because they possess a particular skill which can contribute to the effective governance and success of the school;
  • Associate Members are not actually governors but can be appointed to serve on committees and attend meetings of the full governing body. They do not have the right to vote at meetings of the full governing body but may been given voting rights on the committees that they are a member of, but these rights can only be given by the governing body. 

The different committees our governing body has are:

  • Curriculum - A committee that looks at the standards of work across the whole school in each curriculum area. 
  • Resources - This committee deals with all aspects of Human Resources, the Financial Management of the school, premises and Health & Safety. 
  • There are also separate disciplinary and appeals committees which are convened if they are required.

If you have any questions you would like to ask, please contact governors via the School Office.


First Name Surname Type Role





Business Interests

(If applicable)

Governor at another school
Jen Ablett Staff Governor      
Peter Archer Foundation (DBE) Vice-Chair of Governors      
Liz Bullock Foundation (DBE) Chair of Resources Committee      
Reverend Josie Calam Ex-Officio Governor      
Amanda Clark Parent Governor      
Sue Currie Foundation (Trustee) Governor      
Sally Fowler Foundation (DBE) Chair of Curriculum Committee      
Claire Freeman Foundation (Trustee) Governor      
Jeanette Gibbs Parent Governor      
Beverley Guy Local Authority Governor      
Bev Heywood Foundation (Trustee) Governor      
Alison Reakes-Williams Staff Headteacher    
Lisa Screen Foundation (DBE) Governor      
Marc Stevenson Parent Chair of Governors    
Chris  Webb Parent Governor      
John  Jordan   Clerk to Governors